top of page
Search

Jenny Armer



Truck, Fish, Grandfather

2020

mixed media


Artist Statement

When making these works I am thinking about memory. What a memory is? What it means to me? What memories I share with others? And how easily they can be taken away or lost. Memory has always been interesting and scary to me. Sometimes it just doesn’t make sense the things you remember from ten years ago but you can’t remember that small detail from a day ago. Memories can recall very happy moments but also some really sad times and bring up all those emotions out of nowhere. And memory terrifies me because I know how quickly and easily it can disappear. Alzheimer’s runs in my family, so the thought of losing all those little memories that make someone who they are is terrifying to me. This has been a subject that I have worked around since my undergrad. When I started using found photographs it clicked for me and started to add more to my ideas behind the work. Photographs are frozen moments in time one photo can never be duplicated it is a documentation of that specific time and place, or memory. I take someone or something out of the image and then add to it in different ways to try to retell the story sometimes with the influence of my own memories.


Bio and Websites


Jenny Armer has always been a creative person growing up in San Diego. It wasn’t until college that she really took it seriously and decided to study art. She attended Grossmont College and took just about every art class she could, starting with drawing and painting. Then transferred to San Francisco State University where she received her bachelor’s degree in studio art with an emphasis in photography. While attending SFSU she was introduced to printmaking and immediately fell in love with the medium. After Graduating she moved back to San Diego where she now work for San Diego Mesa College Art Gallery. In her spare time, she tries to make work as often as she can. She is always trying to find ways to combine the different mediums she has learned over the years. Lately she has been working with found photographs and thinking about memories we keep, memories we share and memories lost. She usually works small because she feels like the pieces become these precious objects that you have to take the time to look at closely to really appreciate them. So this project has pushed her out of her comfort zone to try something a little different.

bottom of page